PDA

View Full Version : Chassis Fixture

Coyote187
03-27-2005, 07:13 PM
Hey,
Soon I will be starting to rework and modify my 69, one of the things I'll be doing is changing the multi leaf over to a tri-four bar setup. Now you might be asking why, well I decided on that because it’s just something you don't see every day, also from what I've read it is a very lets say tunable setup. I have never done anything like this before, but I am a welder/metal fabricator and have been for the last eleven years and I have a good Idea on what I can do.
Now my question is when I build my chassis fixture, what should the mounting points be and what dimensions do I need to concern myself with? I understand that the frame rails have got to be square and the placement of the rear-end is very important. But does the body need support any where in particular?
If anyone has drawings or pictures that would be a big help.

wally8
03-28-2005, 03:49 PM
Just so we can get the terms straight, what exactly is a "tri-four bar" in your mind? 3 link? 4 link? satchell? A-body style? I haven't heard this exact term before so I could use some more description.

Thanks.

Wally

Coyote187
03-29-2005, 06:48 PM
The tri fuor bar is like the one used on "Novacane" on the Lateral-g homepage. Art Morrison makes some, I'ts kinda like a chevelles.

awr68
03-30-2005, 12:12 AM
I beleive he is refering to AME's triangulated 4-bar...no need for a panhard bar with this setup....

I hope you are planning on using new 2x4" tubular frame rails, the stock sheet metal 'top hat designed' rails will absolutly not handle the lateral force of the triangulated bars...if you are using new frame rails (back halfing) then you have nothing to worry about.