PDA

View Full Version : Tool and equipment question for my new shop

weston
08-25-2014, 08:13 PM
I am just getting started in the world of pro touring car building and I have many many many questions, but this thread is about shop equipment. I'm just at the age to get out on my own. I work out of town about 80% of the time and when I am in all I want to do is work on my 69 Camaro. I built a shop with apartment on one end and I need some tools and equipment. I'm on a budget after building my shop/house so I'm wanting to ask about some cheap starter tools. I'm thinking about the Eastwood mig, tig, and plasma cutter. Has anyone used the Eastwood products? They are much cheaper than Lincoln or Miller but like I said I'm just starting. Also, what is a good manual or hydraulic pipe bender that's not too expensive? I want to build my own cage. Thanks for any help

Che70velle
08-25-2014, 09:11 PM
You wanting to buy tools for a business, or are these just for your shop, to mess around with your personal projects? I hear good things about Eastwood products, but I've never owned any personally.

weston
08-25-2014, 10:12 PM
It would just be for personal use. Just as a hobby and fab work on my car

GregWeld
08-26-2014, 06:22 AM
Personally -- I think a guy is always better off saving up the extra money and buying GOOD tools rather than cheap tools. Tools are an investment - and most good ones will last a lifetime.... so rather than buying cheap - then selling them down the road at a loss and upgrading... why not just start out buying stuff you don't need to upgrade. Save up - and shop - and I'd buy a great USED tool before I'd buy new cheap stuff. There's usually a reason cheap stuff is cheap.