PDA

View Full Version : LQ advice

IndyNova
08-06-2013, 05:02 PM
Hey guys, I picked up an 2000 lq9 6.0 and 4l80 trans the other day for my 69 nova. Here's my question: the car will be 99% street driven with the occasional auto cross/road course. I'd like to cam it and put an ls6 intake on it, and possibly a turbo or two(mild boost) A): what would be a good cam for this
B): is there a better alternative for intake than an ls6, and will the lq9 throttle body suffice, or do I need to look at buying one of these also. I'm a noob at these motors, so any help is appreciated

Jgpclone
08-06-2013, 07:45 PM
You sir have a lq4 no lq9 was made I'm that year they started producing them late 2002 for the 2003 models like escalades Denali and Silverado Ss .anyways ls6 is the superior intake that gm made for a 3bolt tb there so many variables of intake u can use .my suggestion for a turbo street build ls9 head gasket arp head stud ls6 intake high volume gas pump and 60lbs injector lq4 motors compression are good for boost in less u but a cheap 4.8 that loves boost .proven 1000 hp on stock bottom with a ls9 head gasket and arp head studs but that's just my opinion

jazz2069
08-06-2013, 09:54 PM
Does your motor have iron heads? It should if the year is correct.

IndyNova
08-10-2013, 04:48 AM
Yes it's an iron headed motor, I wish it was had aluminum heads..lol

WSSix
08-10-2013, 08:26 PM
Then swap them for aluminum heads. You can go with 317s milled down to raise compression or go with LS6/243 heads if you want. I'd go with some inexpensive ported LS6 heads if you're trying to keep costs down. Texas Speed offers a good budget LS6 ported head. LS6 intake is a great idea. You'll need the steam tubes too I believe. LQ throttle body will fit the LS6 intake.

Did you get the PCM with the engine?

jwcarguy
08-11-2013, 09:38 PM
If you do swap to the "common" 6.0L #317 cyl heads and are planning on boosting it, DO NOT mill them down to raise your compression