PDA

View Full Version : 1962 Fuel Injected Corvette

wiedemab
03-29-2012, 08:14 PM
This is the same car the I polled the group about the value of. My stepdad took the car to a Corvette restoration shop and had it assessed and had an estimate drawn up for a restoration. According to this shop, the car is all there and all of the identification on the components show that they are the original components on the car.

Based on the cost of the restoration he has decided to sell it. Per recommendation from the restoration shop he is asking (lowered again - he's looking to sell!) $65K OBO for the car.

At this point, I'm not looking for any more feedback on the value. He has decided this based on his research and the discussions that he has had with this restoration shop. If anyone is interested, please PM me and I can get you in touch with him.

I'm far from a Corvette expert so bare with me if I mis-speak. It is a '62 Fuel injected car (all numbers match). It was restored around 1990. It is a radio delete car (or no radio option was selected) and he also has the hard top for it. It is also a "big brake car" He has letters from an NCRS rep that inspected the car prior to and during the restoration which states that the car is what it is supposed to be. The really ODD thing about this car is that it was ordered from the factory to be painted a 1960 Pontiac Blue color. He has a notarized letter from the original owner (a school teacher from Ohio) that explains the entire order process and gives the history of the car while he owned it. It may be the only one that came from the factory in this color.

Since the restoration, he has driven the car off and on and it now resides at his home in Florida where he continues to drive it once or twice a month around town. To be back in top condition the car would need to be restored again, but everything from the original restoration is still in tact. The chrome is starting to show age, as is the paint etc..