PDA

View Full Version : What do the other TIG guys do to sharpen your tungsten?

Revved
11-15-2011, 05:05 PM
I'm still learning the ropes of this TIG machine and getting better by the project. After a long conversation with the guy behind the desk at the local welding shop I've gotten some tungsen and filler rod that are better sized for my materials and its made a world of difference in weld quality! The last issue I'm really fighting is scatter which leads to my question.... What is everyone else doing to sharpen their tungsten? The guy at the welding shop of course recommended a dedicated grinder wheel that is only used for sharpening tungsten which would be practical if I was TIG welding all day... or even on a weekly basis but in the real world the grinder gets used for anything that needs grinding. I've tried looking for a sharpener and they make them for $500+ which is also not practical.

Anybody have a better option or do I just need give in and dedicate a grinder wheel to the noble goal of better TIG welding?

War
11-15-2011, 05:50 PM
You just need to give in.

ccm399
11-15-2011, 06:44 PM
What Jason said is true...

However, to address the question more directly, a dedicated wheel is worth it but it doesn't have to be a full size grinding wheel. I use a 1" diameter stone wheel for my die grinder.

The important thing is to grind the tungsten in the correct direction. The grind marks should be parallel to the center line of the material. I hold the tungsten with the point toward the top of the wheel (although I have seen other people hold the point down). If the grind marks are perpendicular to the center line of the tungsten that can cause issues with the arc stability.