PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get an starter TIG...thoughts?

Jay Hilliard
01-11-2011, 07:44 AM
I have been wanting to get a TIG welder and have been looking at the Miller Diversion 180. Any opinions/reviews on this welder or another one in that range?

This is for my home and will be used as a hobby machine. No need for a water cooled high end machine.

thanks.

69x22
01-11-2011, 09:05 AM
Hey Jay, I bought a Miller EconoTig, I had to upgrade the tip, after doing that I am 100% satisfied with it. It can also weld Aluminum pretty good.

Looks like your wifes 69 is coming along nice!

Jay Hilliard
01-11-2011, 09:13 AM
When did you buy the econotig? I didnt see them on Millers site, but I may have missed it. I have a friend who has an econotig for sale, but its a transformer style vs inverter. I have been told inverter technology is better with reduced power consumption, etc.

ccracin
01-11-2011, 11:45 AM
Jay,

I am a beginner and just picked up a Lincoln Precision Tig 225. It's a transformer style, but has a pulser, ac/dc, post flow timer, and auto/manual balance adjustment. Plus the price is very nice. Check out the last page or 2 of my thread in the sig line below. There are pics of it. Love it so far!

pokey64
01-11-2011, 08:17 PM
This thread made me wonder what we had in our shop at my office. My guys use a Miller Maxstar 150 STL to make up ss fittings. It seems like a nice little unit. But I really have no clue. I played with it today and it's only my second time tig welding...

GNon18s
01-12-2011, 12:18 AM
I have a Lincoln precision tig 185 for 5 years now and nothing bad to say about it.

68RS350
01-12-2011, 07:13 AM
Miller has the Diversion 165 and 180 that is fairly priced.

Jay Hilliard
01-12-2011, 09:28 AM
Miller has the Diversion 165 and 180 that is fairly priced.

Yep, the 180 is the one I have been looking at.

GregWeld
01-12-2011, 10:21 AM
I own a Miller 200 Dynasty DX.... It's an inverter style.