PDA

View Full Version : Nova Disc brake conversion - easiest bolt on kit

MC71Nova
12-02-2010, 04:36 PM
Hi All,

I'm a decent shade tree mechanic... removed and replaced motors, do my own maintenance, switched out a master cylinder before, etc. But I'm not an expert by any means. I'm looking for the least complicated, most complete 4 wheel disc kit for my '71 nova on the market today. Would love to get a larger than stock front disc if possible (but don't need it) and I have power drums now so want a power setup. Every kit I see seems to lack the hard brake lines from the proportioning valve to the frame. Is there a kit that uses the stock lines? Do they need to be replaced? other than that is it a pretty straightforward job? I'm using the stock a-arms but would need a kit with the proper spindles obviously. Do these kits move the wheel/tire out or in from stock drums? Any expertise would be appreciated! I'm looking to keep the entire budget under $1K if possible, start to finish, doing the work myself. Looking for new parts, not used or takeoff from another model. Thanks!!

NvrDun71
12-02-2010, 07:51 PM
Give Tobin at Kore3 a call. Your budget may be tough to hit, but he should be able to get you squared away.

ProdigyCustoms
12-02-2010, 09:18 PM
We have a factory stock replacemnt (4) wheel disc kit that DOES include all the pre bent hard lines and all. Absolute no brainer kit.

We also have our Exlusive Prodigy Custom Total Car G Machine Brake Packages featuring larger then stock Baer or Wilwood brakes that include everything including "You Bend It Line Kit" and tools to do it with. It is pretty much a no brainer also.

All depends on budget and needs, The phone call is free.

scherp69
12-02-2010, 10:14 PM
Frank, can you post details of the 'you bend it' line kit. By spring, I'd be interested in a stainless steel kit.

MC71Nova
12-02-2010, 10:32 PM