PDA

View Full Version : A Body Rear Suspension (Dennis, are you there?)

ProTouring442
01-02-2006, 09:10 PM
I have looked into this a little before, but would like to get a few opinions on the subject. Like so many before me, I have already bought into the hype and purchased PST's PollyGraphite products for the rear of my car (1972 442). :eek:

So, as I will be removing these, I thought I might look into what is a good idea. I did a bit of searching, and I see that Dennis has already looked into this quite a bit, and maybe a bit more after that! He seems to recommend Edelbrock uppers, A special joint (who makes it?) on the diff side of the upper, and lowers with joints on both ends. Am I right here?

Now, I'm no suspension expert. Hell, I don't even play one on TV (Don't even watch the thing!). Still, what would be better:

1) Going with the Dennis :thumbsup: approved set-up.

or

2) Going with the lowers with joints on both ends, a panhard bar, and a torque-arm running under the driveshaft like the add-on one made for Mustangs.

If (2) is the better option, how would/should/could I determine the proper length of the arm?

Any ideas on fabricating the slip joint at the front of the arm?

You are the masters, I am but the learner! :bow:

Shiny Side Up!
Bill
'72 442 "Inamorata"

Derek69SS
01-02-2006, 09:51 PM
The spherical bearings in the axle housing are from www.wolferacecraft.com

If you hurry, you can get them 20% off (until Jan. 6th :) )

I ordered mine last week :thumbsup: I also ordered the double-adjustable upper and lower arms.

sinned
01-02-2006, 10:10 PM
I'm gonna have to say go with the T/A arrangement, you'll be much happier in the long run.

ProTouring442
01-03-2006, 05:11 AM
I'm gonna have to say go with the T/A arrangement, you'll be much happier in the long run.