PDA

View Full Version : Need some help choosing a color

almcbri
12-21-2005, 11:11 PM
The car is now going to be rolling into the paint shop sooner than expected.
I need some help. Choosing the right color has been a problem since day one of my restoration on this car. Any color suggestions would be great. I will set up a poll also. A friend is helping me jamb the car and paint the firewall and dash, then she will be ready for the painter to complete the rest of the paintwork.
I am going to get started Monday morning so I need to get on the ball a bit.
Thanks guys

ProdigyCustoms
12-22-2005, 12:14 AM
Well, you know what they say about opinions....... But you asked. Personally, I am a bit afraid the Burnt Oranges and Tangelo's so popular right now may turn into the Miami vice teals, magenta's and purples of days past. Those oranges seem to be a bit of a fad right now. As a 25 year painter, I have seen nice reds and blues stay strong, always favorites of the masses. While I am not a fan of either red or blue, they are somewhat eternal. For me, for a one color car with possibly stripes, if I was considering a orange, I would look at Hugger orange and pay a little respect to the cars heritage. Personally I do not think there are enough Hugger Orange cars. I feel the same about Daytona Yellow or slight variants of those colors.

But with all that said, as of today, The Milf Project is scheduled to be a trend chaser and go a two tone Tangelo and Charcoal. But I also know the painter and can change one color in a weekend.

race-rodz
12-22-2005, 12:33 AM
im with frank....... timeless colors are the way to go(if ya really like that shiny hi maint stuff :D )

but.... if "trendy" is what your lookin for.... look to bright greens, earth tone greens, dark greens..... they are starting to show up in the sport truck scene...meaning they will trickle down to street rods and hot rods soon enough.