PDA

View Full Version : Help With Air Compressor Regulator Piping

jmarsa
01-08-2010, 03:19 PM
I haven't posted here in a while so I thought now would be a good time.

I'm now ready to complete the regulator/filter piping and I wanted to run this idea past you guys. I want a system I can run tools from and also spray (wood and metal parts -not cars) with. So starting from the right side of the diagram below, my supply line is 3/4" which would go directly into a 3/4" regulator/filter combo and filter the big stuff. With the ball valve closed it would allow me to run tools/sandblast cabinet ect. without dropping the pressure and using the extra filtration from the second regulator/filter unit. If it's open, then the second regulator/filter is used. The check valve keeps the air in the correct side or "system".

I'm no engineer, so please comment on a better solution or if this won't work. Again, I won't be painting cars, just want a good home shop set-up. By the way, the diagram is not to scale and is just a mock-up.

Thanks,

--JMarsa

Fluid Power
01-08-2010, 03:28 PM
Jmarsa,

Replace the check valve with another ball valve. The will flow thru both paths with the one ball valve open. So if you were painting, some air would be filtered thru the second filter and some would flow thru the check valve. Make sense?

Darren

jmarsa
01-08-2010, 03:38 PM
Darren,

Thanks for the quick reply. So if valve 1 is open then valve 2 is closed and vice-versa? I've updated the diagram.

Is there a concern that air will flow back through the filters (eventually stopping at the valve)? In other words, are the filters meant to be one way only?

I still need to buy the filters, are you the business and sell to the public?

--JMarsa

Fluid Power
01-08-2010, 05:09 PM