PDA

View Full Version : Suspension Analysis Done.

Musclerodz
10-03-2005, 02:12 PM
For those that don't like to hear "mine is better than yours", here is some hard numbers for ya. These numbers are not absolute as I have not started fabricating yet. Hopefully I won't have to change anything too much.

Based on 1" dive 2* roll:

bump steer .00"
roll center height 1.79"
roll center migration .01"
camber gain -.50*
caster gain .22*

Analysis was done by Marcus at SC&C using C5 knuckles, Cobra R&P, custom lower a-arms, and proprietary parts from SC&C for the rest (upper a-arms, steering arms, upper ball joint). I also have to build a one off sub for this car as well due to the raised floor and to be able to pick up the points as defined by the analysis. This thing should hopefully go around the track as if it were on rails. I am still learning this stuff so what I can't answer I will get Marcus to help answer.

Mike

sinned
10-03-2005, 06:54 PM
Cool Mike, those numbers look pretty good. I'd really like to see the actual graph as obtaing absolute zero bump steer throughout the range of travel is impossible. Marcus is pretty bright and I'm sure he just shot you the best of the results though the rest of the range probably is on par for a one off design. It would be nice to see the RC migration animation as well; see what it actually does through a corner.

Mean 69
10-03-2005, 08:19 PM
Looks like a pretty good start. The migration numbers, and bump steer look really nice. The camber gain, although not "the" most important aspect, looks a bit modest at .5 degrees/inch, you might try to shorten the upper arms a smidge, or better, lengthen the lowers and see if you can bump this up just a little. It's not bad, especially if the rest of the stuff is good.