PDA

View Full Version : New Guy from IL

62fairlane
07-31-2005, 04:51 PM
Well I already have posted a couple questions but I guess I should chime in here on my project. I am building a 1962 daily driver Ford Fairlane 2 door. Currently it is my driver with nothing to impressive. I swapped in a larger six and a t5 trans along with a modern ignition and a weber carb (soon to be holley 350) I am a mechanical engineering student and got this project approved as my sr design project for my group. we are fully CAD'ing in the chassis and suspension we are designing for it. I have already picked up wheels (2001 mustang bullit's) and brakes (96 gt for now) We are going to use the mustang spindles with a upper balljoint adaptor on them ala factory five cars.

While a twin turbo would be neat and all we are staying with the six (getting a blow through carb setup shortly) as it gives a LOW weight (around 2600) and a 50/50 weight balance (or within a couple percent) for the front we are doing a new crossmember with new arm mounts for the rack conversion and new spindles. out back we are going with a trianglated 4 link. all 4 corners are getting airbags on them (currently the rear has them already) car is getting some body work cleared up currently but shoul dbe presentable by the end of the semester. Looking at maybe going with a hydroboost setup on it too.

hotwheels
07-31-2005, 07:37 PM
welcome to lateral g........you fairlane project's sounds awesome......would love to see some pictures of it....
Reading this thread, got my imagination running......since you are looking at a blow through carb, why not turbocharge the 6cyl? I think that would be way cool and it would be impressive to show....

hotwheels of insanemustangs

XcYZ
07-31-2005, 09:17 PM
I am a mechanical engineering student and got this project approved as my sr design project for my group.

Right on, that's great. Welcome to the site. It will be cool to follow along with it, please keep us posted. :thumbsup: