PDA

View Full Version : Edelbrock IAS

T Bell
05-30-2005, 09:05 PM
Anybody running or have run these? Is it all just hype?

4mm
05-31-2005, 01:56 AM
They seem to work pretty good on my 71 Mustang Boss 351. Remember, this car is heavier than the earlier gens and they seem to be to my satisfaction. Dont waste your money on the cheaper KYB's. I also have Koni's on my 70 Boss 302 and they work a bit better than the brocks since they are adjustable. I have a complete global west setup on the 71 and complete TCP setup on the 70.The brocks are the best of the mid priced shocks, IMO. You can get them in red or for the old school look in grey.

T Bell
05-31-2005, 03:43 PM
I not too familiar with adjustable shocks. You basically can soften or stiffen the ride to your liking? I've seen the QA1s but can't see $300-500 for 2 shocks. They are offered in single and double adjustable. What exactly are you adjusting? Sorry for the noob question, but I'm a noob.

4mm
06-01-2005, 01:56 AM
Some are adjustable on compression only (when car dives downward) and some are adjustable on both compression and rebound (when car rises upwards after compression). QA1 makes the dual adjustable types too but are more expensive than single adjustable. Spending money on shocks can be one of your best investments, think about off roading, circle track, drag racing, ect... Shock tuning and shock performance makes the difference in winning or losing, especially on track cars.

vintageracer
06-01-2005, 08:50 PM
Remember what a shock abosorber does. It controls the spring and a spring compresses and then releases that energy. 4musclemachinesman gave you a short sweet description of the function of a shock absorber.

Non adjustable shocks are factory set for rebound and compression and are a BIG compromise to what your actual needs may be. Your needs will be different that other folks as this is a function of driving style, type of vehicle and road conditions.