Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > EFI and Forced Induction
User Name
Password

Old 02-07-2006, 03:19 PM

Default Home built rear mounted turbo ?????

I am considering putting a rear mounted turbo on my 63 nova, reason being that I have a 5.3 out of a 2001 Chevy Silverado, that I would like to leave as close to stock as possible except the whole 10 to 20lbs of boost thing. The reason I like the rear mounted location is ease of installation, normal headers, no intercooler ect. What all would I need as far as wastegates and componets like that to get this working. Any opinions would be nice, I really think that this would work and not cost a arm and a leg.
Old 02-08-2006, 06:59 PM

To start with I am no turbo expert, although someday I hope to be, but I personal don't like the idea of a rear mounted turbo for a couple reasons.

First off the oil issue, you would have to have engine oil go too the turbo and then drain into some tank and then be pumped back to the engine. That does not quite fit the KISS law to me.

And secondly, if I am not mistaken, my thermodynamic class tought me that the turbo is using thermal energy from the exhaut gases to transform into work to spin the compressor and make boost. As soon as the exhaust leaves the engine it starts to cool, by the rear of the car you could almost put our hand on the exhaust pipe, meaning there would be less energy then near the engine. I guess you could insulate the intire exhaust system to help?

I knwo there is companies out there making rear mount turbo setups and they are making proven Hp gains. If it were me and I was going to dump the $ into a turbo setup I would put it under the hood. Not only would the plumbing be easier, in theory it would be more efficent. Not to mention I would look a whole lot cooler!!!
Old 02-11-2006, 01:58 AM

one thing i didnt really like about a rear mounted turbo was the location of the air filter ....how aboout when it rains ???????? no thanks